Targets summary

JWST allows three different types of targets - Fixed, Solar System, and Generic- and this article contains the descriptions of those requirements.

There are four different classes of targets:

  • Fixed targets (all targets outside the solar system whose positions can be defined by specific celestial coordinates);
  • Target Groups (a collection of fixed targets  that are very close on the sky and intended to be observed together in one visit);
  • Solar-system targets (all moving targets);
  • Generic targets (targets defined by certain properties, rather than by specific coordinates).

Note that targets that have not yet been discovered or identified may generally be included only  under special circumstances , and should be given Generic Target names.

GO proposals must include a list of all targets.

More about targets